Sixx AM Get It Right

Just days after announcing details of Modern Vintage, Sixx AM have dropped the first single from the forthcoming album.

The band featuring Motley Crue’s Nikki Sixx, guitarist DJ Ashba and vocalist James Michael, say they wanted to create an album “which confounds both expectation and categorisation” and the release of Gotta Get It Right is an indication of what to expect from Modern Vintage.

Speaking about the band’s new material, which also features drummer Taylor Hawkins from Foo Fighters, Ashba says: “Gotta Get It Right is a great example of how Sixx AM has set out to celebrate the music that has influenced us over the years. We truly feel we’ve made a genre-defying album with Modern Vintage.”

In a statement on their Facebook page, Sixx AM say: “It’s been great seeing how people are connecting the dots to what influenced this album and first single. We’ve had lots of comments with comparisons to Queen, T-Rex, Mott The Hoople etc. Those are some of the bands we love and have influenced us greatly, but we also feel there is a deep rebirth from the past into 2014.”

Sixx AM’s Modern Vintage launches on Oct 7.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.