Skip to main content

Rainbow 1981 live show to be released

Ritchie Blackmore
Ritchie Blackmore (Image credit: Getty)

A live set featuring Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, recorded in Boston in 1981, is to be released later this month.

Purple Pyramid Records will launch the album on CD, gatefold 2LP and red, blue and green vinyl on May 13. It’s said to feature “crystal clear audio that captures the vibrant energy and emotion pouring through the band.”

Boston 1981 is available for pre-order.

Blackmore’s new-look Rainbow lineup will play the Monsters Of Rock festival in Germany on June 17 and 18, then at the Genting Arena, Birmingham, UK, on June 25.

Last week the guitar icon poured cold water on hopes the band could enter the studio in the future, saying: “I thought I’d just get back to playing the old songs one more time. My commitment lies with Blackmore’s Night – this is just a few dates for fun.”

Rainbow Boston 1981 tracklist

  1. Spotlight Kid
  2. Love’s No Friend
  3. I Surrender
  4. Man On The Silver Mountain
  5. Catch The Rainbow
  6. Can’t Happen Here
  7. Lost In Hollywood
  8. Difficult To Cure
  9. Long Live Rock N’ Roll
  10. Smoke On The Water

2016 Preview: Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.