Radiohead’s Thom Yorke announces new album Anima

Thom Yorke (Image credit: Alex Lake)

Thom Yorke has announced that he’ll release his new solo album next week.

It’s titled Anima, with the Radiohead (opens in new tab) frontman launching the nine-track record a week today on Thursday, June 27.

It was produced by Nigel Godrich, with an extra bonus track set to appear on the vinyl release only. Anima will also launch on CD, 2LP, limited edition orange double vinyl and a deluxe 180g orange double vinyl which will also include a 40-page lyric book, with drawings by Stanley Donwood and Dr Tchock.

The album is currently available to pre-order exclusively through the record's website (opens in new tab).

In addition, it’s also been revealed that a “one reeler” film also titled Anima will be available to watch on Netflix on the same day as the album release from 8am. The film was created by Paul Thomas and will feature three tracks from the record.

Watch a trailer for the short film below.

The album news comes after cryptic poster ads began to pop up in cities around the world for a company called Anima, including a series in London.

The adverts carried the headline: “Do you have trouble remembering your dreams?” and had the phone number 07588 733 111 printed at the bottom. Calling the number reveals a short portion of the track Not The News.

Yorke will head out on tour in support of Anima from early July (opens in new tab).

Thom Yorke: Anima
1. Traffic
2. Last I Heard (…He Was Circling The Drain)
3. Twist
4. Dawn Chorus
5. I Am A Very Rude Person
6. Not The News
7. The Axe
8. Impossible Knots
9. Runwayaway
10. Ladies & Gentlemen, Thank You for Coming (Bonus track - vinyl only)

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.