New Years Day return with new single Shut Up - and reveal album details

New Years Day (Image credit: Hristo Shindov)

New Years Day have announced that they’ll release their new studio album this spring.

It’ll be titled Unbreakable and it’s set to arrive on April 26 via Red Music. 

To mark the news, the Californian outfit have shared Shut Up – the second track from the follow-up to 2015’s Malevolence which can be listened to below.

New Years Day launched the first single Skeletons last year.

Vocalist Ash Costello says: “Shut Up was written in a day, which just doesn’t happen. I was going through some heavy personal stuff, and I was just, ‘Don’t tell me what I want, shut up and give it to me.’”

Unbreakable will be New Years Day’s fourth album and it was produced by Mitchell Marlow who has previously worked with artists including In This Moment and All That Remains.

They’ll head out on the road with Falling In Reverse across the US this spring and will return to Europe in November with Halestorm and In This Moment.

New Years Day: Unbreakable
1. Come For Me
2. MissUnderstood
3. Skeletons
4. Unbreakable
5. Shut Up
6. Done With You
7. Poltergeist
8. Nocturnal
9. Sorry Not Sorry
10. My Monsters
11. Break My Body
12. I Survived

New Years Day: Unbreakable

New Years Day: Unbreakable
New Years Day return with Unbreakable – their first studio album since 2015's Malevolence. It will feature the lead singles Skeletons and Shut Up.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.