Cavalera, Caggiano and Tolis guest on Melechesh album

Max Cavalera, Rob Caggiano and Sakis Tolis all say they’re honoured to have recorded guest tracks for Melechesh’s sixth album Enki.

The follow-up to 2010’s The Epigenesis will be launched on March 2 via Nuclear Blast – it’s their first since drummer Xul was replaced with former member Lord Curse.

Soulfly, Cavalera Conspiracy and Killer Be Killed frontman Cavalera reports: “I’m a big fan and I think The Epigenesis is one of the greatest extreme metal records ever done. Our worlds finally collide; long live Melechesh!”

Caggiano, who joined Volbeat last year after leaving Anthrax, adds: “I’ve been a fan for a while now and it was an honour play a solo. These guys sound like nothing else out there.”

Rotting Christ frontman Tolis says he called Melechesh opposite number Ashmedi as soon as he heard they’d be recording in Greece. He comments: “I believe this is one of the most unique and atmospheric metal albums I’ve heard in years. I’m definitely proud working with the Kings of Fire.”

Ashmedi is delighted with each guest’s contribution. “Max is a lion – I love his voice,” the vocalist says. “Rob and I always wanted to collaborate, and his lead rocks. They all did an outstanding job.”


  1. Tempest Temper Enlil Enraged

  2. The Pendulum Speaks

  3. Lost Tribes – featuring Max Cavalera

  4. Multiple Truths

  5. Enki - Divine Nature Awoken – featuring Sakis Tolis

  6. Metatron And Man

  7. The Palm The Eye And Lapis Lazuli – featuring Rob Caggiano

  8. Doorways To Irkala

  9. The Outsiders

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.