Mark Morton “thrilled” at direction of new Lamb Of God material

Lamb Of God are in "full throttle" mode

Lamb Of God are currently working on material for the follow-up to 2015’s VII: Sturm und Drang (opens in new tab), according to guitarist Mark Morton.

He revealed the news in an interview with Full Metal Jackie (opens in new tab) – and he says the tracks that he and guitarist Willie Adler have been working on have a “really cool energy.”

When asked about the status of Lamb Of God, Morton replies: “Lamb Of God is in full swing. We are currently working on new material that I’m thrilled about. I just had some sessions with Willie putting together new songs. There’s a really cool energy going on with the new stuff – so Lamb Of God is full throttle. 

“We’ve got shows coming together and lots of new material coming together. There will be no shortage of Lamb Of God this year, for sure.”

There’s a really cool energy going on with the new stuff – so Lamb Of God is full throttle

Mark Morton

Morton is also preparing to release his new solo album Anesthetic, which will launch on March 1 via WPP/Spinefarm Records.

It features a collaboration with the late Chester Bennington (opens in new tab), along with guests Alissa White-Gluz, Jacoby Shaddix, Mark Lanegan, Chuck Billy, Jake Oni, Myles Kennedy, Mark Morales, Josh Todd, Naeemah Maddox and his Lamb Of God bandmate Randy Blythe.

And, asked if he’s considered trying to get together with some of the musicians he collaborated with for future live shows, Morton replies: “I have been. That’s something I’m really excited at trying to work out.

“That’s in process and I’ve been having some conversations with people and putting feelers out there to see how we can pull this off.

“It’s not something I thought about at the beginning of the project but now that it’s come together, I feel like it would add another component to it and make it even more real to get it out there and perform these songs in front of people. It’s something I’m definitely working on.”

Anesthetic is now available for pre-order. Find further details below.

Mark Morton: Anesthetic
1. Cross Off (feat. Chester Bennington)
2. Sworn Apart (feat. Jacoby Shaddix)
3. Axis (feat. Mark Lanegan)
4. The Never (feat. Chuck Billy + Jake Oni) 
5. Save Defiance (feat. Myles Kennedy)
6. Blur (feat. Mark Morales)
7. Back From The Dead (feat. Josh Todd)
8. Reveal (feat. Naeemah Maddox)
9. Imaginary Days
10. Truth Is Dead (feat. Randy Blythe + Alissa White-Gluz)

Mark Morton: Anesthetic (opens in new tab)

Mark Morton: Anesthetic (opens in new tab)
Lamb Of God guitarist Mark Morton will release his solo album Anesthetic in March. The record features a number of guest stars and will include a vocal contribution from the late Chester Bennington.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.