Marilyn Manson channels Bowie on apocalyptic new single Don’t Chase The Dead

Marilyn Manson portrait 2020
(Image credit: Frazer Harrison / Getty Images)

Marilyn Manson has made no secret of his life-long love for David Bowie, and with new single Don’t Chase The Dead, he revisits Bowie’s Berlin-era to dramatic effect.

Don’t Chase The Dead is the second single to be unveiled from Manson’s eleventh studio album, We Are Chaos, which is set for release on September 11 via Loma Vista Recordings.

Speaking about the track to Consequence Of Sound this week, Manson says: “It sounds like the end of the world, in a way. That really was what I was trying to capture. We’ve sort of painted ourselves into the end of the world as human beings, but I think there is a hope in it. And there’s always a hope in art, or you wouldn’t make art. You can’t be a nihilist and an artist at the same time, it’s not possible.”

We are Chaos, the follow-up to 2017’s Heaven Upside Down, was produced by Shooter Jennings.

Speaking about the album, Manson says: “When I listen to We Are Chaos now, it seems like just yesterday or as if the world repeated itself, as it always does, making the title track and the stories seem as if we wrote them today.

“This concept album is the mirror Shooter and I built for the listener – it’s the one we won’t stare into. There are so many rooms, closets, safes and drawers. But in the soul or your museum of memories, the worst are always the mirrors. Shards and slivers of ghosts haunted my hands when I wrote most of these lyrics.”

“Making this record, I had to think to myself, ‘Tame your crazy, stitch your suit – and try to pretend that you are not an animal,’ but I knew that mankind is the worst of them all. Making mercy is like making murder. Tears are the human body’s largest export.”

We Are Chaos artwork

Marilyn Manson: We Are Chaos tracklist

01. Red Black And Blue
02. We Are Chaos
03. Don't Chase The Dead
04. Paint You With My Love
05. Half-Way & One Step Forward
06. Infinite Darkness
07. Perfume
08. Keep My Head Together
09. Solve Coagula
10. Broken Needle

Metal Hammer

Founded in 1983, Metal Hammer is the global home of all things heavy. We have breaking news, exclusive interviews with the biggest bands and names in metal, rock, hardcore, grunge and beyond, expert reviews of the lastest releases and unrivalled insider access to metal's most exciting new scenes and movements. No matter what you're into – be it heavy metal, punk, hardcore, grunge, alternative, goth, industrial, djent or the stuff so bizarre it defies classification – you'll find it all here, backed by the best writers in our game.