King Crimson to launch live album featuring current lineup

King Crimson will release their first live album featuring the current lineup in September, the band have confirmed.

It’s headed up with the launch of an official bootleg, available via his label DGMLive now as a download, and on March 17 as a double-CD edition. Mainman Robert Fripp has overseen the “fabbo-to-the-max” performance selection. A free download of Easy Money can be accessed via the sales page.

The recordings all feature Fripp, Jakko Jakszyk, Mel Collins and Tony Levin plus drummers Gavin Harrison, Bill Rieflin and Pat Mastelotto.

DGM say: “How about a full live album gathering together the complete King Crimson setlist compiled from numerous nights and selected performances? In response to overwhelming demand for video of the group’s shows, the multi-disc set will come with selected in-concert footage.”

The bootleg that’s now on sale was recorded at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, Toronto, Canada, on November 20 last year. It’s described as “a superb example of the band in full-flight,” and “features some of the best-loved pieces in King Crimson’s catalogue, as well as new material such as Radical Action To Unseat The Hold Of Monkey Mind and Meltdown.”

Crimson commence a European tour on September 4 at Aylesbury’s Waterside Theatre, before playing in Germany, the Czech Republic, Poland, Denmark and Norway. Live album details will be released in due course.

King Crimson Live In Toronto tracklist

Disc 1

  1. Threshold Soundscape
  2. Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part I
  3. Pictures Of A City
  5. Radical Action (To Unseat the Hold of Monkey Mind)
  6. Meltdown
  7. Hell Hounds of Krim
  8. The ConstruKction of Light
  9. Red
  10. Epitaph

Disc 2

  1. Banshee Legs Bell Hassle
  2. Easy Money
  3. Level Five
  4. The Letters
  5. Sailor’s Tale
  6. Starless
  7. The Court of the Crimson King
  8. 21st Century Schizoid Man

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.