Kansas to release Leftoverture Live & Beyond


Kansas have announced that they’ll release a new live album this winter.

Titled Leftoverture Live & Beyond, it will arrive on November 3 via InsideOut Music and is their first live record since 2009’s There’s Know Place Like Home.

It will feature 19 songs that were selected from 12 shows recorded during the band’s recent 2017 Leftoverture 40th anniversary tour, including classic hits and new songs from 2016’s The Prelude Implicit.

The album culminates with an entire live performance of their 1976 album Leftoverture.

Kansas drummer Phil Ehart says: “When we saw how much our fans enjoyed the Leftoverture 40th anniversary tour shows, we knew we had to record a live album.

“When it came to finding someone to produce it, we thought the best possible person would be the guy that produced Leftoverture 40 years ago. So, we called Jeff Glixman!”

Glixman adds: “I’m really excited with how this live album sounds. This band is on fire. Producing this live album was truly an undertaking, but I am confident that Kansas fans will enjoy the end result.”

Leftoverture Live & Beyond will be available on double CD digipak, 4x180 gram vinyl box set and on digital formats, with pre-orders to be announced in due course.

Find the cover art and tracklist below.

Leftoverture Live & Beyond tracklist

  1. Icarus II
  2. Icarus
  3. Point Of Know Return
  4. Paradox
  5. Journey From Mariabronn
  6. Lamplight Symphony
  7. Dust In The Wind
  8. Rhythm In The Spirit
  9. The Voyage Of Eight Eighteen
  10. Section 60
  11. Carry On Wayward Son
  12. The Wall
  13. What’s On My Mind
  14. Miracles Out Of Nowhere
  15. Opus Insert
  16. Questions Of My Childhood
  17. Cheyenne Anthem
  18. Magnum Opus
  19. Portrait (He Knew)

Kansas Cancel European Tour

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.