Jon Bon Jovi has ‘no ill will’ towards Richie Sambora

Sambora and Bon Jovi on stage in 2012
Sambora and Bon Jovi on stage in 2012 (Image credit: Getty)

Jon Bon Jovi says he has no bad feelings towards the band’s former guitarist Richie Sambora.

Sambora left the band in 2013 before their world tour, leading to a public war of words that eventually settled down. Their relationship appeared to be on the mend after frontman Jon invited Sambora to do the ‘ice bucket challenge’ in 2014.

Then, last month, the guitarist congratulated the singer on the release of Bon Jovi’s new single This House Is Not For Sale, which in turn drew a warm response from Bon Jovi.

And the vocalist says he harbours no grudge against his former bandmate.

He tells ET Canada: “It’s evident that he has moved on in his life. One day he woke up and decided he didn’t want to be in the band anymore.

“Being in a rock band is not a life sentence and just because he chose not to come back that was his prerogative, end of story.

“There’s no ill will – the guy quit one day, he never showed up for work.”

Bon Jovi will release 13th album This House Is Not For Sale on October 21. It’s available for pre-order via iTunes.

Bon Jovi This House Is Not For Sale tracklist

  1. This House Is Not For Sale
  2. Living With The Ghost
  3. Knockout
  4. Labor Of Love
  5. Born Again Tomorrow
  6. Roller Coaster
  7. New Year’s Day
  8. The Devil’s In The Temple
  9. Scars On This Guitar
  10. God Bless This Mess
  11. Reunion
  12. Come On Up To Our House
  13. Real Love
  14. All Hail The King
  15. We Don’t Run
  16. I Will Drive You Hime
  17. Goodnight New York

The This House Is Not For Sale cover

The This House Is Not For Sale cover

Richie Sambora: I’m not just Bon Jovi’s sideman

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.