Watch Johnny Winter and Dr John take on Jumpin' Jack Flash

johnny winter
Johnny Winter in the late 1980s (Image credit: Getty)

Johnny Winter and Dr John’s 1987 cover of the Rolling Stones’ Jumpin’ Jack Flash has been released ahead of its live album launch.

The pair, who often worked together during that decade, teamed up for a concert at Sonet Studios in Sweden, and delivered a set that’s long been sought-after in bootleg form.

The eight-track performance will be released under the title Live In Sweden 1987 on April 22 via MVD Entertainment Group, in CD, vinyl and digital formats. It’s available for pre-order now.

Johnny Winter And Dr John Live In Sweden 1987 Tracklist

  1. Sound The Bell
  2. Don’t Take Advantage Of Me
  3. Mojo Boogie
  4. You Lie Too Much
  5. Sugar Sweet
  6. Love Life & Money
  7. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  8. Prodigal Son
Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.