Skip to main content

Jack White announces new solo album Boarding House Reach

Jack White
Jack White (Image credit: Getty)

Jack White has announced details of his upcoming solo album titled Boarding House Reach.

The follow-up to 2014’s Lazaretto will arrive on March 23 via Third Man Records/XL Recordings and is said to feature elements of “crunching rock’n’roll, electro, hard funk, proto punk, hip hop, gospel blues and country.”

In addition, the former White Stripes man has released an audio stream of Respect Commander and a video for Connected By Love which can both be found below.

White reported in March 2017 that he was working on the new music in a small Nashville hideaway, and recording material on an old reel-to-reel tape recorder he bought when he was 14 with money he earned from mowing lawns.

He said: “I’m going to try to write songs where I can’t be heard by the next-door neighbour.

“I want to write like Michael Jackson would write – instead of writing parts on the instruments or humming melodies, you think of them. To do everything in my head and to do it in silence and use only one room.”

He added: “I always have my own rules, and I can bend them if I want. I can see the confines I’m working in, but nobody else knows I’m doing it.”

Boarding House Reach is available for pre-order through the Third Man Records online store. Find further details below.

Jack White Boarding House Reach tracklist

  1. Connected By Love
  2. Why Walk A Dog?
  3. Corporation
  4. Abulia And Akrasia
  5. Hypermisophoniac
  6. Ice Station Zebra
  7. Over And Over And Over
  8. Everything You’ve Ever Learned
  9. Respect Commander
  10. Ezmerelda Steals The Show
  11. Get In The Mind Shaft
  12. What’s Done Is Done
  13. Humoresque

Buyer's Guide: Jack White

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.