Iron Maiden open pre-orders for Senjutsu – and detail super deluxe box set

Iron Maiden: Senjutsu super deluxe box set
(Image credit: Iron Maiden)

Earlier this week, Iron Maiden revealed their new album Senjutsu would be released on September 3, with the news following an easter egg-filled animated video for the first single The Writing On The Wall.

Pre-orders for Iron Maiden’s first studio album since 2015’s The Book Of Souls have now gone live – and that includes a spectacular super deluxe box set that's crammed full of goodies.

Ready? Good then let’s dive straight in. First up in the box set is Senjutsu on 2CD digipak which features a 28-page booklet. There's a Blu-ray digipak focusing on The Writing On The Wall which includes a 'making of', a 20-page booklet and notes from Iron Maiden frontman Bruce Dickinson.

There’s also a movie-style poster of The Writing On The Wall, a set of three art cards featuring 3D Senjutsu Eddie, and a printed origami sheet from which you can create Eddie’s samurai helmet.

Senjutsu was recorded in Guillaume Tell Studio in Paris with producer Kevin Shirley, and was co-produced by bassist Steve Harris.

Speaking about the record, Dickinson said: “We’re all really excited about this album. We recorded it back in early 2019 during a break in The Legacy Of The Beast tour so we could maximise our touring yet still have a long set up period before release to prepare great album art and something special as a video. 

“Of course the pandemic delayed things more – so much for the best laid plans – or should that be ‘strategies’?  The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There’s also one or two songs which sound pretty different to our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised – in a good way, I hope!”

Harris added: “There’s some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort! I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it.”


(Image credit: Iron Maiden)

Iron Maiden: Senjutsu tracklist
1. Senjutsu
2. Stratego
3. The Writing On The Wall
4. Lost In A Lost World
5. Days Of Future Past
6. The Time Machine
7. Darkest Hour
8. Death Of The Celts
9. The Parchment
10. Hell On Earth

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.