Green Day just played a surprise, intimate show in Las Vegas featuring Dookie in full, rarities and a brand new song (videos inside)

Billie Joe Armstrong on stage
(Image credit: Scott Legato/WireImage via Getty Images)

Pop punk legends Green Day played a surprise set at an intimate venue in Las Vegas last night (Thursday October 19), playing a 29-song set stacked with rarities, fan favourites, one brand new track and their most beloved album in full. In town for this coming weekend's When We Were Young Festival, which features a heavyweight lineup of pop punk, emo and post-hardcore faves including Green Day, Blink-182, The Offspring, Sum 41, 30 Seconds To Mars, Good Charlotte and many, many more, the trio decided to treat fans to an up-close and personal show at the 1,000-capacity Fremont Country Club - a world away from the stadiums and festival headline slots they usually occupy.

Striding out on stage to blast straight into Dookie opener Burnout, Green Day proceeded to start the show by playing their third album in its entirety, to the delight of those lucky enough to get tickets.

Following the conclusion of Dookie, the lads then treated fans to a brand new song, frontman Billie Joe Armstrong confirming: "This is the first song off our new album!" Titled The American Dream Is Killing Me, it sounded like a classically bouncy slice of vintage, late-90s Green Day, and got a great reception.

Following that, the band rattled through a career-spanning pick of songs, including rare plays such as Oh Love, Last Night On Earth and Homecoming, plus the first ever live performance of Graffitia, taken from Green Day's most recent album, 2020's Father Of All Motherfuckers.

"Holy shittttttt," remarked the band soon after on Twitter. "We just played Dookie in full, thank you for that Las Vegas AND our new single The American Dream Is Killing Me comes out October 24th! Set those wake up calls, ya hear??"

As if that wasn't all enough, Green Day confirmed that they'll be touring the US accompanied by The Smashing Pumpkins, Rancid and the Linda Lindas, with a flyer distributed at the show hinting that EU and UK dates will follow soon. 

Watch videos from the intimate show below, and check out the band's full setlist from the night at the bottom. Green Day headline When We Were Young Festival this weekend, October 21-22, at the Las Vegas Festival Grounds.

See more
See more
See more
See more
See more

Green Day Las Vegas Fremont Country Club setlist October 19 2023

1. Burnout
2. Having A Blast
3. Chump
4. Longview
5. Welcome To Paradise
6. Pulling Teeth
7. Basket Case
8. She
9. Sassafras Roots
10. When I Come Around
11. Coming Clean
12. Emenius Sleepus
13. In The End
14. F.O.D.
15. All By Myself
16. The American Dream Is Killing Me
17. Geek Stink Breath
18. One Of My Lies
19. Oh Love
20. Stuart And The Ave.
21. Disappearing Boy
22. Graffitia
23. Letterbomb
24. Last Night On Earth
25. Father Of All...
26. Nuclear Family
27. Warning
28. Revolution Radio
29. Homecoming

Merlin Alderslade
Executive Editor, Louder

Merlin moved into his role as Executive Editor of Louder in early 2022, following over ten years working at Metal Hammer. While there, he served as Online Editor and Deputy Editor, before being promoted to Editor in 2016. Before joining Metal Hammer, Merlin worked as Associate Editor at Terrorizer Magazine and has previously written for the likes of Classic Rock, Rock Sound, eFestivals and others. Across his career he has interviewed legends including Ozzy Osbourne, Lemmy, Metallica, Iron Maiden (including getting a trip on Ed Force One courtesy of Bruce Dickinson), Guns N' Roses, KISS, Slipknot, System Of A Down and Meat Loaf. He has also presented and produced the Metal Hammer Podcast, presented the Metal Hammer Radio Show and is probably responsible for 90% of all nu metal-related content making it onto the site.