Dream Theater’s John Petrucci reunites with Mike Portnoy on new solo album

Dream Theater's John Petrucci
Dream Theater's John Petrucci (Image credit: Daniel Knighton - Getty)

Last month, Dream Theater guitarist John Petrucci announced he would be releasing his new solo album Terminal Velocity later this year.

It’ll be Petrucci’s first solo outing since 2005’s Suspended Animation, with the musician revealing the title along with a short video on his Instagram feed.

The guitarist has now revealed that his former Dream Theater bandmate Mike Portnoy will play drums on the record, which will also feature Flying Colors’ Dave LaRue on bass.

The album will be released later this year on a date still to be confirmed – but Petrucci has now revealed the tracklist along with a new teaser video which can be found below.

The nine-track record will include Happy Song, which Petrucci debuted on a South American G3 tour in 2012 under the working title Cloud Ten, while Glassy-Eyed Zombies – which also made its debut eight years ago – will also feature.

Announcing Terminal Velocity, Petrucci said: “In 2005, there was Suspended Animation. And now, 15 years later, the wait is nearly over.”

The cover art for the record has been created by Sean Mosher-Smith at Echo Designlab.

John Petrucci: Terminal Velocity

1. Terminal Velocity
2. The Oddfather
3. Happy Song
4. Gemini
5. Out Of The Blue
6. Glassy-Eyed Zombies
7. The Way Things Fall
8. Snake In My Boot
9. Temple Of Circadia

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.