Dim Gray stream Ouroboros and announce vinyl release for Flown

Dim Gray
(Image credit: Anne-Marie Forker)

Norwegian art rock trio Dim Gray have streamed their track Ouroboros, which you can listen to below. It's taken from the band's debut album Flown, which is getting a physical release following its digital release by the band last year.

Flown will be released on CD through Grim Day and on double vinyl through Grim Day/Plane Groovy on June 11.

The trio, Håkon Høiberg, Oskar Holldorff and Tom Ian Klungland, described by Prog Magazine as “elegiac and beautifully dense post-prog from Norway", blend  contrasting musical backgrounds in genres as diverse as black metal, progressive rock, blues, folk and film music.

Flown is a concept record with intertwining songs structured like one continuous story, the album relates a vivid tale of loss and loneliness that constantly twists and turns, with intimate and spatial moments offset with massive and colourful soundscapes.

“Rather than tell a linear story, we attempted to structure it as a circular narrative, with the protagonist trapped in a downward spiral, a vicious cycle without a clear beginning or ending, The band explain. "The story can be interpreted in various ways, but the lyrical themes remain centred around loss, longing and loneliness, and the psychological toll these feelings can take on a person.”

Pre-order Flown CD.

Pre-order Flown vinyl.

Dim Grey

(Image credit: Dim Grey)

Dim Gray: Flown
1.  Again
2. The Wave We Thought We’d Ride Forever
3. Closer
4. Ráth
5.  Wandering
6.  Flown
7.  Light Anew
8.  Yore
9.  Song For E
10.  Dreamer’s Disease
11.  Ouroboros
12.  Black Sun
13.  Again - Live*
14.  Song For E - Live*
15.  Paper Bird - Extended Version*
16.  Ice And Sea* (CD ONLY)
16.  Wakeless* (LP ONLY)
* bonus songs

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.