Dave Mustaine presents Triple H with Spirit Of Lemmy Award at Download

Triple H salutes the Download crowd
Triple H salutes the Download crowd

Megadeth frontman Dave Mustaine presented wrestling icon Triple H with the first ever Spirit Of Lemmy Award on the Main Stage at Download today.

Minutes after Megadeth’s performance, Mustaine invited Triple H on to the stage to present him with the award – which forms part of the Metal Hammer Golden Gods.

This year’s ceremony takes place at the Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith on Monday night (June 13).

Triple H says: “Having Dave give me this award is a dream come true. Standing on the Lemmy Stage, named after one of my great friends and being given the Spirit Of Lemmy Award is amazing.

“I can feel Lemmy here right now, sitting up on that black cloud over there – drinking a Jack and Coke, probably. The true Spirit Of Lemmy is this fucking crowd right here.

“This is the Spirit Of Lemmy, the Spirit Of Lemmy will never die, because of all of you.”

Mustaine, who last year won Metal Hammer’s Golden God Award, introduced Triple H to the crowd, bringing huge cheers when he mentioned Lemmy’s name.

Earlier, Megadeth were joined onstage by Nikki Sixx for a rendition of Sex Pistols classic Anarchy In The UK.

TeamRock is at Download all weekend. Visit teamrock.com to keep up with all the news, reviews and interviews from the festival as they happen.

Triple H with the Spirit Of Lemmy Award

Triple H with the Spirit Of Lemmy Award

Saxon and Motorhead men join forces in A Salute To Lemmy at the Golden Gods

Stef wrote close to 5,000 stories during his time as assistant online news editor and later as online news editor between 2014-2016. An accomplished reporter and journalist, Stef has written extensively for a number of UK newspapers and also played bass with UK rock favourites Logan. His favourite bands are Pixies and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Stef left the world of rock'n'roll news behind when he moved to his beloved Canada in 2016, but he started on his next 5000 stories in 2022.