Daniel Cardoso and Kristoffer Rygg's Head Control System album to be reissued

Head Control System
(Image credit: Press)

Head Control System's 2006 debut album Murder Nature is to be reissued in remastered and expanded form by Kscope Records on November 17.

The band was the brain child of producer and musician Daniel Cardoso, who would go on to join much-missed proggers Anathema in 2011 and Ulver's Kristoffer Rygg. They recorded the album, which was produced and mixed by Cardoso  in both Portugal and Norway between 2005–2006.

"Murder Nature was a pretty bold album, especially if you put it into the context of when it was made, and how," says Cardoso. "Looking back, I’m still surprised that we pulled it off, but I’m glad we did 'cause it pretty much paved the way to my long-lasting career as a musician and producer."

Remastered and expanded to a double-disc edition of Murder Nature, now features a special bonus disc of unreleased instrumental and demo material, along with a cover of Seal’s 1994 hit Kiss From A Rose. The release also includes updated art and layout, and contains a booklet featuring a comprehensive interview delving into the gestation of the whole project.

Murder Nature will be released as a single vinyl album and a double CD.

Pre-order Murder Nature.

Head Control System

(Image credit: Kscope)

Head Control System: Murder Nature
1. Baby Blue
2. Skin Flick
3. Masterpiece [Of Art]
4. Blunt Instrumental
5. It Hurts
6. Watergate
8. Kill Me
9. Wonderworld
10. Rapid Eye Movement
11. Falling On Sleep
12. Kiss From a Rose

Disc 2 (CD Only)
1. Baby Blue (Instrumental)
2. Skin Flick (instrumental)
3. Masterpiece [Of Art] (instrumental)
4. Watergate (instrumental)
5. Seven (instrumental)
6. Wonderworld (instrumental)
7. Rapid Eye Movement (instrumental)
8. eM lliK (Kill Me reverse)
9. Baby Blue (Unreleased Demo)
10. Skin Flick (Unreleased Demo)
11. Masterpiece [Of Art] (Unreleased Demo)

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.