Clannad team up with Journey's Steve Perry for new version of White Fool – stream it here!

Clannad group shot from 2020
(Image credit: Anton Corbijn)

Clannad have revisited their 2020 double anthology, In A Lifetime, with nine immersive new mixes exclusively available via digital platforms. A reworking of White Fool – originally from 1988's Sirius and sung by Pól Brennan – now includes guest vocals from Journey's Steve Perry as well as new instrumentation and vocal parts from Moya Brennan. Scroll down to hear the updated version.

In A Lifetime (The Immersive Collection) – out now via BMG – also includes a powerful new mix of the band's 1985 single, In A Lifetime, featuring U2's Bono, as well as the newly recorded A Celtic Dream and Who Knows Where The Time Goes. Both new tracks have been reworked by Trevor Horn in 360 Reality Audio.

“The last songs have an expansive sound to start with so they’re just exploding in the room," says Pól Brennan. "I think the fans are going to love this”.

Clannad are currently on their rescheduled farewell tour, which continues until the end of 2022.

Buy the latest issue of Prog Magazine.

In A Lifetime (The Immersive Collection) tracklist:

1. In A Lifetime (feat. Bono)
2. White Fool - Reimagined (feat. Steve Perry)
3. Theme From Harry’s Game
4. A Celtic Dream
5. Blackstairs
6. Robin (The Hooded Man)
7. Who Knows (Where The Time Goes)
8. In A Lifetime (feat. Denise Chaila)
9. Journey’s End

Natasha Scharf
Deputy Editor, Prog

Contributing to Prog since the very first issue, writer and broadcaster Natasha Scharf was the magazine’s News Editor before she took up her current role of Deputy Editor, and has interviewed some of the best-known acts in the progressive music world from ELP, Yes and Marillion to Nightwish, Dream Theater and TesseracT. Starting young, she set up her first music fanzine in the late 80s and became a regular contributor to local newspapers and magazines over the next decade. The 00s would see her running the dark music magazine, Meltdown, as well as contributing to Metal Hammer, Classic Rock, Terrorizer and Artrocker. Author of music subculture books The Art Of Gothic and Worldwide Gothic, she’s since written album sleeve notes for Cherry Red, and also co-wrote Tarja Turunen’s memoirs, Singing In My Blood. Beyond the written word, Natasha has spent several decades as a club DJ, spinning tunes at aftershow parties for Metallica, Motörhead and Nine Inch Nails. She’s currently the only member of the Prog team to have appeared on the magazine’s cover.