Ascension Of The Watchers hit gothic-industrial gold with new track Ghost Heart

With industrial-metal powerhouses Fear Factory currently in legal limbo,  singer Burton C Bell has resurrected his other band Ascension Of The Watchers and delivered their first single in more than a decade.

Ghost Heart is a slab of tremendous atmospheric gothic-industrial noise that evokes mid-80s Killing Joke rather than Fear Factory’s machine-gunning heaviness (unsurprising given Bell’s musical partner in AotW is former Killing Joke man John Bechdel). 

It’s accompanied by a spectacular animated video directed by Victor Hugo-Borge. Or, as Bell puts it: “A surreal landscape for the cinematic tones that is Ghost Heart.”

The song is taken from Ascension Of The Watchers’ upcoming fourth album – and their first since 2008 - Apocrypha, due out on October 9.

(Image credit: Dissonance)

(Image credit: Dissonance)

Ascension of The Watchers: Apocrypha track list

1. Ghost Heart
2. The End Is Always The Beginning
3. Apocrypha
4. A Wolf Interlude
5. Honoré
6. Stormcrow
7. Cygnus Aeon
8. Key To The Cosmos
9. Bells Of Perdition
10. Wanderers
11. Sign Your Name

Dave Everley

Dave Everley has been writing about and occasionally humming along to music since the early 90s. During that time, he has been Deputy Editor on Kerrang! and Classic Rock, Associate Editor on Q magazine and staff writer/tea boy on Raw, not necessarily in that order. He has written for Metal Hammer, Louder, Prog, the Observer, Select, Mojo, the Evening Standard and the totally legendary Ultrakill. He is still waiting for Billy Gibbons to send him a bottle of hot sauce he was promised several years ago.