Bruce Springsteen to release soundtrack for autobiography

Bruce Springsteen
Bruce Springsteen (Image credit: Getty)

Bruce Springsteen is to release Chapter And Verse – a soundtrack to accompany his forthcoming autobiography Born To Run.

The record explores the singer-songwriter’s 50-plus year career and will feature five previously unreleased tracks, including two tracks from his old band, The Castiles. Solo demos of Henry Boy and Growin’ Up cut in 1972 are also included on the release.

The Boss previously said of his forthcoming memoir: “Writing about yourself is a funny business. But in a project like this, the writer has made one promise, to show the reader his mind. In these pages, I’ve tried to do this.”

Chapter And Verse will be available on a single CD or a double-LP on September 23 and can be pre-ordered via his website. Born To Run launches on September 27.

Bruce Springsteen Chapter And Verse tracklist

  1. Baby I – The Castiles (previously unreleased)
  2. You Can’t Judge A Book By The Cover – The Castiles (previously unreleased)
  3. He’s Guilty (The Judge Song) – Steel Mill (previously unreleased)
  4. Ballad Of Jesse James” – The Bruce Springsteen Band (previously unreleased)
  5. Henry Boy (previously unreleased)
  6. Growin’ Up
  7. 4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
  8. Born To Run
  9. Badlands
  10. The River
  11. My Father’s House
  12. Born In The USA
  13. Brilliant Disguise
  14. Living Proof
  15. The Ghost Of Tom Joad
  16. The Rising
  17. Long Time Comin’
  18. Wrecking Ball

Inspirations: Bruce Springsteen

Former news desk member Christina joined the team in late 2015 and although her time working on online rock news was fairly brief, she made a huge impact by contributing close to 1500 stories. Christina also interviewed artists including Deftones frontman Chino Moreno and worked at the Download festival. In late 2016, Christina left rock journalism to pursue a career in current affairs. That's proved to be a massive success and in 2021, she was named Local Weekly Feature Writer of the Year at the Scottish Press Awards.