Skip to main content

Blackmore story set for DVD release

A documentary focusing on the career of former Rainbow and Deep Purple guitarist Ritchie Blackmore is to be released later this year, it’s been announced.

The Ritchie Blackmore Story will be issued on November 20 via Eagle Rock Entertainment on Blu-ray and 2DVD/2CD.

The film features interviews with Blackmore, along with contributions from Brian May, Glenn Hughes, Lars Ulrich, Steve Lukather, Joe Satriani, David Coverdale, Gene Simmons, Joe Lynn Turner, Steve Vai, Graham Bonnet, Ian Anderson and the late Jon Lord.

The package will also be released in a deluxe edition featuring Rainbow’s Live In Tokyo DVD/CD, recorded at their show at the Budokan in 1984. It’ll be housed in a 60-page hardback photo book.

The guitar icon is planning three European shows next June where he’ll play a set consisting of his material with Purple and Rainbow.

Live In Tokyo Deluxe Edition tracklist


  1. Intro Medley
  2. Spotlight Kid
  3. Miss Mistreated
  4. I Surrender
  5. Can’t Happen Here
  6. Catch The Rainbow
  7. Power
  8. Keyboard Solo
  9. Street Of Dreams
  10. Fool For The Night
  11. Difficult To Cure (Beethoven’s Ninth)
  12. Guitar Solo
  13. Drum Solo


  1. Blues
  2. Medley: Stranded / Hey Joe
  3. Death Alley Driver
  4. Fire Dance
  5. Maybe Next Time
  6. Medley: All Night Long / Woman From Tokyo
  7. Lazy
  8. Since You’ve Been Gone
  9. Smoke On The Water

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.