A Cheery Wave label to release new post-rock compilation in April

A Cheery Wave
(Image credit: A Cheery Wave)

Post-rock specialists A Cheery Wave Records are to release the latest in their post-rock compilation series which celebrates the best in underground post-rock. The new compilation, A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters: Volume IX, will be released on April 2.

"We wanted to look back fondly at some of the great bands who are no longer with us, and, as such, the album features only bands who have split-up," say the label. "This is a cheery wave from the beyond."

The new 12-track compilation features songs from bands such as Double Handsome Dragons, And The Earth Swarmed With Them, Kasper Rosa, ...And Stars Collide, Glissando and more, who have split up.

A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters: Volume IX is the label's first to be released on physical formats: very limited editions of 33 cassettes and 50 CDs. These include a bonus track unavailable elsewhere. It will also be available as a free/pay- what-you-want download.

"I'm yet to find a post-rock compilation released on tape, so this may well be the first," the label add.

The A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters: Volume IX cover photo is the Imperial Trans-Antarctic Expedition stranded on Elephant Island in April 1916 as they waved goodbye to Ernest Shackleton and crew departing to seek rescue. It has been designed by Barry Parkinson from Goonies Never Say Die.

Pre-orders open on March 19.

Check out previous Cheery Wave compilations.

A Cheery Wave

(Image credit: A Cheery Wave)

Various Artists: A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters: Volume IX
1. Double Handsome Dragons - My favourite animal is the white werewolf 2. The Rock of Travolta - 24 Frames Per Second
3. And The Earth Swarmed With Them - It Will Begin Again
4. A Genuine Freakshow - Frightened Ones
5. Kasper Rosa - You Fool, Warren Is Dead!
6. obe - Drop C Life Centre
7. Goonies Never Say Die - Something Of Summers Past
8. Monsters Build Mean Robots - A Town Called Tourettes
9. 52 Commercial Road - Ash
10. ...And Stars Collide - Every Step Takes Me Further From Home (Part II)
11. He Was Eaten By Owls - Inchoate With The Light Go I pt iii (feat. Loraine James)
12. Glissando - The Long Lost

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.