This is Slayer's setlist from the first night of their farewell tour

Slayer started their farewell tour last night at the Valley View Casino Center in San Diego, California. It marks the beginning of the end for one of metal's most iconic, ferocious and evil bands. They're true force of hatred and a band whose name conjures images of destruction. 

With a career spanning 37 years and twelve albums, what do you play on your final jaunt across the world? You can't please everyone, but you can bring out every single Big Fucking Gun in your arsenal, and play a couple of tracks not performed live for many years (see: Dittohead and Blood Red).

If you're going to see Slayer on this victory lap, here's what they played on the first night. Brace yourselves and start stretching those mosh muscles.

1. Repentless
2. Blood Red
3. Disciple
4. Mandatory Suicide
5. Hate Worldwide
6. War Ensemble
7. Jihad
8. When The Stillness Comes
9. Postmortem
10. Black Magic
11. Payback
12. Seasons In The Abyss
13. Dittohead
14. Dead Skin Mask
15. Hell Awaits


16. South Of Heaven
17. Raining Blood
18. Chemical Warfare
19. Angel Of Death

Slayer recently announced dates for the UK and European legs of the tour.

Luke Morton joined Metal Hammer as Online Editor in 2014, having previously worked as News Editor at popular (but now sadly defunct) alternative lifestyle magazine, Front. As well as helming the Metal Hammer website for the four years that followed, Luke also helped relaunch the Metal Hammer podcast in early 2018, producing, scripting and presenting the relaunched show during its early days. He also wrote regular features for the magazine, including a 2018 cover feature for his very favourite band in the world, Slipknot, discussing their turbulent 2008 album, All Hope Is Gone.