Watch Foo Fighters play previously unheard song Unconditional and a Nine Inch Nails/Beastie Boys/Van Halen/Ramones medley on the opening night of their UK stadium tour

Dave Grohl
(Image credit: Astrida Valigorsky/Getty Images)

Foo Fighters kicked off their UK summer tour at Manchester's Old Trafford Stadium last night, June 13, and treated fans to a typically epic set, with a few surprises thrown in. 

The most unexpected inclusion on the 24-song setlist was a previously unheard Foo Fighters song, Unconditional, which a representative of the band told the Consequence of Sound website, was “partially written and demo’d during home studio sessions years ago — but ultimately left unfinished.”

“The band’s rediscovery of Unconditional happened in true spontaneous Foo Fighters fashion: The song came up in conversation during rehearsals for the UK tour, and all it took was one run-through -The decision was made instantly to share it with everyone in the same way - live.”

Watch the world premiere of the song below:

Unconditional - New Foo Fighters Song - YouTube Unconditional - New Foo Fighters Song - YouTube
Watch On

The set also saw  frontman Dave Grohl perform Under You from 2022's But Here We Are album solo for the first time, and a medley of band member solos, which included guitarist Chris Shiflett perform Van Halen's Eruption, bassist Nate Mendel play Beastie Boys' Sabotage, and drummer Josh Freese get to show his skills on Devo's Whip It and Nine Inch Nails' March Of The Pigs, in acknowledgment of the fact that he has played with both bands. 

"He also played with Michael Bublé," Grohl added, "but we're not doing that shit tonight."

Watch the clip below:

Foo Fighters - Sabotage/ Blitzkrieg Bop/ Whip It/ March of the Pigs/Intros/ Solos @ Ohana Fest 2023 - YouTube Foo Fighters - Sabotage/ Blitzkrieg Bop/ Whip It/ March of the Pigs/Intros/ Solos @ Ohana Fest 2023 - YouTube
Watch On

The band's set featured:

1. Monkey Wrench
2. Learn To Fly
3. No Son Of Mine
4. Rescued
5. The Pretender
6. Times Like These
7. Generator
8. Stacked Actors
9. Medicine at Midnight
10. Walk
11. Statues
12. Under You
13. My Hero
14. This Is A Call
15. The Sky Is A Neighbourhood
16. Arlandia
17. These Days’
18. Sabotage/Blitzkrieg Bop/Whip It/March Of The Pigs/I’ve Got A Tiger By The Tail
19. All My Life
20. Unconditional’ (world premiere)
21. Aurora’
22. Best Of You’
23. The Teacher’
24. Everlong’

The band will play:

Jun 15: Manchester Old Trafford Stadium
Jun 17: Glasgow Hampden Stadium
Jun 20: London Stadium
Jun 22: London Stadium
Jun 25: Cardiff Principality Stadium
Jun 27: Birmingham Villa Park Stadium

Paul Brannigan
Contributing Editor, Louder

A music writer since 1993, formerly Editor of Kerrang! and Planet Rock magazine (RIP), Paul Brannigan is a Contributing Editor to Louder. Having previously written books on Lemmy, Dave Grohl (the Sunday Times best-seller This Is A Call) and Metallica (Birth School Metallica Death, co-authored with Ian Winwood), his Eddie Van Halen biography (Eruption in the UK, Unchained in the US) emerged in 2021. He has written for Rolling Stone, Mojo and Q, hung out with Fugazi at Dischord House, flown on Ozzy Osbourne's private jet, played Angus Young's Gibson SG, and interviewed everyone from Aerosmith and Beastie Boys to Young Gods and ZZ Top. Born in the North of Ireland, Brannigan lives in North London and supports The Arsenal.