Volbeat team up with Slayer’s Gary Holt for new single Cheapside Sloggers

Volbeat (Image credit: Ross Halfin)

Volbeat (opens in new tab) have teamed up with Slayer (opens in new tab) and Exodus (opens in new tab) guitarist Gary Holt for their new single Cheapside Sloggers.

Holt provides the solo on the track that’ll appear on Volbeat’s upcoming studio album Rewind, Replay, Rebound. It’s set for release on August 2 through Vertigo/Universal.

Singer and vocalist Michael Poulsen says: “I wanted to add something new and not typical, so why not bring in Gary Holt? He is a great guitar player, and the solo sounds great.”

The band have released a video for the single which was directed by Shan Dan Horan of Shadow Born Group, who has previously created other Volbeat lyric videos, including Parasite, The Devil’s Bleeding Crown, For Evigt, The Bliss, Black Rose and Seal The Deal.

Speaking about the new album, Poulsen, who is joined in the lineup by Rob Caggiano, Kaspar Boye Larsen and Jon Larsen, says: “The whole point for us going into the studio, is because you still have something to prove – not just for the fans, but mostly for yourself,.

“We would not be able to do this record if it wasn’t for the work we have done in the past. No matter how old the band gets or how many records we do, there is always going to be that signature sound.” 

Volbeat are currently gearing up for the North American Knotfest Roadshow which will get underway on July 26 with Slipknot, Gojira and Behemoth (opens in new tab).

They’ll then return to the UK and Europe for further shows from September.

(Image credit: Vertigo Records)

Volbeat: Rewind, Replay, Rebound: Deluxe Edition

Disc 1
1. Last Day Under The Sun
2. Pelvis On Fire
3. Rewind The Exit
4. Die To Live (feat. Neil Fallon)
5. When We Were Kids
6. Sorry Sack of Bones
7. Cloud 9
8. Cheapside Sloggers (feat. Gary Holt)
9. Maybe I Believe
10. Parasite
11. Leviathan
12. The Awakening of Bonnie Parker
13. The Everlasting
14. 7:24

Disc 2
1. Under The Influence
2. Immortal But Destructible
3. Die To Live (feat. Neil Fallon)
4. Last Day Under The Sun (Demo)
5. Rewind The Exit (Demo)
6. When We Were Kids (Demo)
7. Maybe I Believe (Demo)
8. Leviathan (Demo)

(Image credit: Vertigo Records)

Volbeat: Rewind, Replay, Rebound (opens in new tab)

Volbeat: Rewind, Replay, Rebound (opens in new tab)
Volbeat are back with their brand new studio album Rewind, Replay, Rebound. It'll be out in August and features the explosive lead single Leviathan.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.