Tony Kaye announces first ever solo album

Tony Kaye
(Image credit: Gottlieb Bros)

Former Yes keyboard player Tony Kaye will release his first ever solo album, End Of Innocence, through Spirit Of Unicorn Music (distributed via Cherry Red Records) on September 10.

The release is specifically timed to mark the 20th anniversary of 9/11, which forms the them behind the new album. Having initially retired from music in 1996, Kaye was moved, by the events of September 11, 2001, to commit his thoughts and feelings to a heartfelt personal musical interpretation.

Tony Kaye, Spirit of Unicorn Music and Cherry Red Records are donating 10% of all profits from End of Innocence to the Gary Sinise Foundation which supports veterans, defenders and first responders in times of hardship.

End Of Innocence is a requiem for those who lost their lives and all those touched by the horrific events of 9/11. Primarily orchestral, End Of Innocence is a powerful and emotional suite that is both beautiful and sinister, reflecting the dark forces at work that day. It guides the listener through the day and touches on the response, to reach a hope that peace and calm may prevail.

“The next day I unpacked my keyboards for the first time in a long time,” Kaye recalls. “I didn’t know what I was going to do. It was one of those things that happened, inspiration on a musical level.

“I wanted it, musically, to be about that day, but I felt compelled to extend it to deal with the repercussions of what happened. Musically, it was quite challenging to do the battle scene and then the Hope And Triumph, a patriotic anthem and the consequences of war. Ground Zero is the hope for the future, the rebuilding.”

The album features appearances from drummer Jay Schellen and Kaye's wife Dani Torchia. The artwork for the album has been created by Roger Dean. You can view the new album artwork and tracklisting below.

Pre-order End Of Innocence.

Tony Kaye

(Image credit: Cherry Red Records)

Tony Kaye: The End Of Innocence
1. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star/Twilight Time
2. 911 Overture
3. NYC Blues
4. Battle Cry
5. 285 Fulton Street
6. Let’s Roll
7. Tug of War
8. Flight 11
9. Towers Fall
10. Sweetest Dreams
11. Aftermath
12. Heroes
13. The Battle
14. Hope and Triumph
15. Homecoming
16. Ground Zero

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.