The Jimi Hendrix Experience’s Electric Ladyland set for deluxe anniversary reissue

(Image credit: K & K Ulf Kruger OHG/Redferns - Getty)

The Jimi Hendrix Experience’s classic 1968 album Electric Ladyland is to be reissued as a deluxe bot set to celebrate its 50th anniversary.

It’s set to arrive on November 9 via L.L.C. and Legacy Recordings on 3CD/Blu-ray and 6LP/Blu-ray, with both packages featuring the original double album remastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analogue tapes.

The package will also include 20 hotel room demos and studio outtakes, along with a 5.1 surround sound mix of the album by Hendrix’s original engineer Eddie Kramer. 

The deluxe edition also comes with the band’s previously unreleased performance at the Hollywood Bowl on September 14, 1968, while the Blu-ray features the documentary At Last… The Beginning: The Making Of Electric Ladyland.

The package is completed by a 48-page book containing Hendrix’s handwritten lyrics, a poem and personal instructions to the record label, along with a collection of photos from the studio which were taken by Kramer.

Kramer says: “I had always dreamed of mixing Electric Ladyland in 5.1 surround sound. It always felt to me as the perfect vehicle for the kind of adventuresome stuff that Jimi and I were trying to do in 1968. 

“The visceral thrill when we completed the first surround mix of Voodoo Child (Slight Return) was palpable. It was an overwhelming experience – pun intended. 

“We viewed this song as the surround test and the moment I heard it I flashed back on those moments when Jimi and I were mixing the stereo album, laughing at our attempts to find that ‘elusive’ sound.”

To mark the announcement, a trailer for the deluxe edition has been released and can be found below, along with the cover art and tracklist. 

Electric Ladyland Deluxe Edition tracklist

Disc 1: Electric Ladyland
1. ...And the Gods Made Love
2. Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland)
3. Crosstown Traffic
4. Voodoo Chile
5. Little Miss Strange
6. Long Hot Summer Night
7. Come On (Let the Good Times Roll)
8. Gypsy Eyes
9. Burning of the Midnight Lamp
10. Rainy Day, Dream Away
11. 1983...(A Merman I Should Turn to Be)
12. Moon, Turn the Tides...Gently Gently Away
13. Still Raining, Still Dreaming
14. House Burning Down
15. All Along The Watchtower
16. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

Disc 2: At Last…The Beginning: The Making of Electric Ladyland: The Early Takes
1. 1983...(A Merman I Should Turn to Be)
2. Angel
3. Cherokee Mist
4. Hear My Train a Comin'
5. Voodoo Chile
6. Gypsy Eyes
7. Somewhere
8. Long Hot Summer Night
9. Long Hot Summer Night
10. Long Hot Summer Night
11. Snowballs at My Window
12. My Friend
13. At Last...The Beginning
14. Angel Caterina (1983)
15. Little Miss Strange
16. Long Hot Summer Night
17. Rainy Day Dream Away
18. Rainy Day Shuffle
19. 1983...(A Merman I Should Turn to Be)

Disc 3: Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At The Hollywood Bowl Sept. 14, 1968
1. Introduction
2. Are You Experienced?
3. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
4. Red House
5. Foxey Lady
6. Fire
7. Hey Joe
8. Sunshine of Your Love
9. I Don't Live Today
10. Little Wing
11. Star Spangled Banner
12. Purple Haze

The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Electric Ladyland Deluxe Edition

The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Electric Ladyland Deluxe Edition
The Jimi Hendrix Experience's classic 1968 album is to be reissued as a deluxe edition to mark its 50th anniversary. It's been remastered and also features live cuts and a Blu-ray documentary.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.