Skip to main content

Slipknot's Corey Taylor: I wanted new mask to make people uncomfortable

Corey Taylor with his new mask

Last Thursday, Slipknot (opens in new tab) revealed their new masks in their video for Unsainted (opens in new tab) and later showed them to the world when they performed a blistering two-song set on Jimmy Kimmel Live! (opens in new tab).

The focus was on frontman Corey Taylor’s creation which was designed by horror special effects guru Tom Savini (opens in new tab), who has worked on productions including Dawn Of The DeadDay Of The DeadFriday The 13th and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.

And in a new interview with Kerrang (opens in new tab), Taylor has given some insight into the ideas behind the creation,

He says: “My vision was about trying to create something uncomfortable – not only for me to wear, but for people to look at. 

“I wanted it to feel like it was something that was created in someone’s basement – something that was made specifically to fuck with people. 

“It’s the representation of public opinion turning on a dime. They want to tear people down for the way they live, even if they don’t really know them. 

“It’s been liberating to embrace that side and be like, ‘Fuck you. I really don’t give a shit what you think about me, so here’s this!’”

Slipknot will release their new studio album We Are Not Your Kind on August 9 through Roadrunner Records and will head out on tour across Europe in the coming weeks.

Speaking about the follow-up to 2014’s .5: The Gray Chapter, guitarist Jim Root said: “This is the most time we’ve had to write a record and work stuff out together. One of my inspirations this time around was those artists that recorded full length albums – not just songs.  

“While the industry is moving toward singles, Slipknot wanted to make an album experience, front to back.”

We’ve taken a closer look at Slipknot’s new masks and compared them with their 2014 creations.

Slipknot: We Are Not Your Kind
1. Insert Coin
2. Unsainted
3. Birth Of The Cruel
4. Death Because Of Death
5. Nero Forte
6. Critical Darling
7. Liar’s Funeral
8. Red Flag
9. What’s Next
10. Spiders  
11. Orphan
12. My Pain
13. Not Long For This World
14. Solway Firth 

Slipknot: We Are Not Your Kind (opens in new tab)
Slipknot's brand new album We Are Not Your Kind will be released through Roadrunner Records in August. The follow-up to .5: The Gray Chapter features the lead single Unsainted.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.