Skip to main content

Sanctuary debut Arise And Purify

Seattle metal veterans Sanctuary have lifted the first song from their forthcoming album The Year The Sun Died.

Arise And Purify is taken from the band’s third studio recording and is their first release since Into The Mirror Black 25 years ago.

The group split in 1992 and reformed 18 years later with original members Warrel Dane, Lenny Rutledge, Jim Sheppard and Dave Budbill joined by Brad Hull for the new recording.

And the band say they are delighted with the finished product.

They tell Get Your Rock Out: “There’s always things you wish you could go back and fix, but we’re really happy with the way it’s turned out. You always want a little more time or one more day or one more shot at that solo but eventually you have to call it a day.”

The Year The Sun Died will be release on CD and digitally, while a vinyl pressing comes with a cover of The Doors’ track Waiting For The Sun. This version also comes bundled with a CD featuring the bonus track.

The album launches in Europe on October 6 and in the US on October 14 via Century Media.


  1. Arise And Purify

  2. Let The Serpent Follow Me

  3. Exitium (Anthem Of The Living)

  4. Question Existence Fading

  5. I Am Low

  6. Frozen

  7. One Final Day (Sworn To Believe)

  8. The World Is Wired

  9. The Dying Age

  10. Ad Vitam Aeternam

  11. The Year The Sun Died

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.