Jon Bon Jovi asks fans to help write a song - as David Bryan confirms coronavirus diagnosis

Jon Bon Jovi
Jon Bon Jovi

Jon Bon Jovi has asked fans to collaborate on a new track with him.

The Bon Jovi leader has recorded the first verse and chorus of a song, and wants to hear fans’ stories amid the coronavirus lockdown.

The vocalist says: “These are trying times we’re going through: uncharted territory, the great unknown. But one thing is for sure, we’re going to make it through. I did what I do best which was to sit down with my guitar and try to put something in words for you, maybe to brighten up your day.

“Here’s my idea: We write this one together. I’m going to give you the chorus an the first verse. I’m going to play the second verse, but you tell me your story. Tell me what you’re going through. Tell me how you’re feeling. Tell me if you’re hurting.

“Talk about that high school graduation that’s going to be cancelled. Talk about that prom you just might not have. Talk about that baby coming – there’s nothing you can do about that. Talk about the pay cheque you’re losing. Talk about being afraid – looking out your window and wondering what to make of all this.

“Just remember, we’re going to get through it. So sing your song, you and me together, and remember when you can’t do what you do, you do what you can.”

Fans can post their ideas on Bon Jovi’s Facebook page where the vocalist and guitarist has shared a video of the beginnings of the new song.

Meanwhile, the band’s keyboardist David Bryan says he’s tested positive for coronavirus.

Bryan says on Instagram: “I just got my results back today and tested positive for coronavirus. I’ve been sick for a week and feeling better each day. Please don’t be afraid! It’s the flu not the plague. 

“I’ve have been quarantined for a week and will for another week. And when I feel better I’ll get tested again to make sure I’m free of this nasty virus. Please help out each other. This will be over soon.”

Bon Jovi will release their new album titled Bon Jovi 2020 on May 15. The follow-up to 2016’s This House Is Not For Sale will include the tracks Unbroken and Limitless.

Bon Jovi: Bon Jovi 2020
1. Beautiful Drug
2. Unbroken
3. Limitless
4. Luv Can
5. Brothers In Arms
6. Story Of Love
7. Lower The Flag
8. Let It Rain
9. Shine
10. Blood In The Water

Bon Jovi: Bon Jovi 2020

Bon Jovi: Bon Jovi 2020
Bon Jovi will release their new studio album Bon Jovi 2020 in May. The follow-up to This House Is Not For Sale will include the singles Limitless and Unbroken.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.