Idlewild reveal Everything Ever Written tracklist

Idlewild have revealed the tracklist for their upcoming album.

The 12-track Everything Ever Written launches on February 9 and will be their first record since ending their five-year hiatus in September last year. Their last release was 2009’s Post Electric Blues.

To mark the announcement, the band have made the track Come On Ghost available to stream. Hear it below.

Their eighth album was produced by the group’s guitarist Rod Jones and was mixed by John Agnello who they worked with previously on 2002’s The Remote Part. It also marks recording debuts by new keyboardist Luciano Rossi and bassist/guitarist Andrew Mitchell.

Jones recently said the band decided to take a break in 2009 as making music had become a chore.

He told TeamRock: “I never thought that the band had run its course, but I could tell that we weren’t in the right place to make a good record if we didn’t take a break. It didn’t feel like the end, we just didn’t know how long we’d be away.

“I guess it what’s we do for a living, and it had started to feel like a job in some ways, so once we removed that ‘job’ aspect of it, suddenly it felt like fun again.”

The record can be pre-ordered direct from the band’s PledgeMusic page, where they’re offering a range of packages.

They’ve lined up a UK and Ireland tour for March which takes in seven dates.

Everything Ever Written tracklist

  1. Collect Yourself 2. Come On Ghost 3. So Many Things To Decide 4. Nothing I Can Do About It 5. Every Little Means Trust 6. (Use it) If You Can Use It 7. Like A Clown 8. On Another Planet 9. All Things Different 10. Radium Girl 11. Left Like Roses 12. Utopia

UK and Ireland tour

Mar 07: Glasgow O2 ABC

Mar 08: Glasgow O2 ABC

Mar 10: Birmingham The Institute

Mar 12: Manchester The Ritz

Mar 13: London Roundhouse

Mar 20: Belfast Limelight

Mar 21: Dublin The Academy

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.