Skip to main content

Here’s the setlist from the opening night of Def Leppard’s Las Vegas residency

Def Leppard (Image credit: Per Ole Hagen/Redferns - Getty)

Def Leppard (opens in new tab) kicked off their Las Vegas residency in style last night.

It was the first of a planned 12-date run at the city’s  Zappos Theater at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino, which will come to a close on September 7.

The band kicked off with a rare treat – Die Hard The Hunter, which was the first time the Sheffield heroes had played the Pyromania classic since 1992.

And the rare live cuts didn’t stop there, with Joe Elliott and co also delivering Slang, Billy’s Got A Gun, Now and an acoustic version of Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad – a selection of songs they haven’t played live in years.

There was also time for Let Me Be The One and We Belong to make their live debuts, in a set which also included a number of classics, including Animal, Foolin’, Bringing On The Heartbreak, Rock Of Ages, Photograph and Love Bites.

Speaking about the residency, frontman Elliott said: “Five years ago, we played our first ever residency in Las Vegas which was relatively new ground for a rock band giving this kind of experience. I have to say, we really enjoyed it! 

“Being in one place for the best part of a month is vastly different to our normal city to city touring routine. Breaking this cycle adds another element to the experience for both us and the audience."

A small selection of tracks from last night have appeared online and can be watched below.

Def Leppard: Las Vegas residency, first night: August 14, 2019

1. Die Hard The Hunter
2. Animal
3. Excitable
4. Promises
5. Foolin’
6. Slang
7. Billy’s Got A Gun
8. Bringing On The Heartbreak
9. Switch 625
10. Let Me Be The One (Acoustic)
11. We Belong (Acoustic)
12. Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad (Acoustic)
13. Two Steps  Behind (Acoustic)
14. Now
15. Rocket
16. Let’s Get Rocked
17. Hysteria
18. Love Bites
19. Armageddon It
20. Pour Some Sugar On Me
21. Let’s Go (Encore)
22. Rock Of Ages (Encore)
23. Photograph (Encore)

(opens in new tab)

Def Leppard: Volume 2 (opens in new tab)
The second volume of Def Leppard's career-spanning box set collection features 1992’s Adrenalize, 1993’s Retro Active, 1996’s Slang, 1999’s Euphoria along with rare cuts, b-sides and more.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.