Greg Lake Band live set to be released

Greg Lake’s Hammersmith Odeon show from 1981, featuring Gary Moore, is to be released on CD and vinyl in November.

The show was recorded at the end of the Greg Lake Band’s tour in support of his self-titled solo debut, released the same year.

Purple Pyramid Records say: “Lake demanded smaller venues – theatres and universities that represented a refreshing change from the monster domes he’d visited the with ELP.

“It was not an extravagant performance. No lasers, no levitating keyboards, no priceless Persian carpets. The Greg Lake Band toured like a band, and on stage they simply took up their positions and played – brilliantly.”

Greg Lake: London ’81 is released on November 5, and it’s available for pre-order now in CD, vinyl and digital formats.


  1. Medley: Fanfare For The Common Man / Karn Evil 9

    2. Nuclear Attack

    3. The Lie

    4. Retribution Drive

    5. Lucky Man

    6. Parisienne Walkways

    7. You Really Got A Hold On Me

    8. Love You Too Much

    9. 21st Century Schizoid Man

    10. In The Court Of The Crimson King

    11. Bonus Track: C’est La Vie (Live in NYC 1981)

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.