Evergrey detail The Storm Within


Evergrey have announced details of their 10th album The Storm Within.

The follow-up to 2014’s Hymns For The Broken will launch on September 9 – and the Swedish outfit’s frontman Tom S Englund promises a “massive” record.

He says: “We went from having no intention of making an album at all to having all the inspiration in the world on Hymns For The Broken. Honestly, we’ve never felt better.

The Storm Within is a massive album. There are no fillers on it and we’ve never been about that. I think the inspiration speaks for itself.”

The concept album was inspired by relationships and has been described as the band’s first “love” record. Englund adds: “As usual, the lyrics are based on someone or some event in my life. When we were making this album a lot of these relationship issues were going on around me – people losing a partner or a loved one and grieving.

The Storm Within is about a search for identity, trying to make yourself full when you feel half empty, and I placed that storyline in an interstellar world.”

The Storm Within will mark the band’s 20th anniversary, and Englund says it’s a milestone he initially didn’t think he’d ever achieve.

He continues: “I had a goal when I started Evergrey. I wanted to make 10 albums and that would fulfil my life plan. That’s not something I ever thought I would accomplish.

“It’s quite an amazing thing to be a band for 20 years and release albums that aren’t sub-par. When I realised we’d done 10 albums in 20 years it was mind-boggling. I’m proud to say that out of all the albums we’ve released over the last 20 years, we’ve never released one that we didn’t feel was the best we could do at that time.

“That goes for every song, every note, everything. That’s why we don’t do anything half-assed.”

The Storm Within, which also features a guest appearance from Nightwish singer Floor Jansen, is available for pre-order in a variety of bundles.

The Storm Within tracklist

  1. Distance
  2. Passing Trough
  3. Someday
  4. Astray
  5. The Impossible
  6. My Allied ocean
  7. In Orbit (ft Floor Jansen)
  8. The Lonely Monarch
  9. The Paradox Of The Fame
  10. Disconnect
  11. The Storm Within

Evergrey came close to split

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.