District 97 premiere Takeover

District 97 have streamed their track Takeover with Prog.

It’s taken from the Chicago-based outfit’s third album In Vaults, set for launch on June 23 via Laser’s Edge.

Vocalist Leslie Hunt tells Prog: “Takeover is one my favourite songs to sing with the band and it’s actually the first D97 chorus melody that I ever wrote. Jonathan Schang started the theme with the verses and I followed suit. It’s all about having cake and eating it too.”

Drummer Schang adds: “I got the idea for Takeover after going on a bit of a Led Zeppelin binge. It’s sort of my ode to Black Dog, with its knotty riffs pitted up against a heavy backbeat. I think the end result is a great example of D97’s personal, proggy take on classic rock.”

The band last year collaborated with Asia frontman John Wetton, who’s called them “the best young progressive band around right now.”

In Vaults tracklist

  1. Snow Country

  2. Death By A Thousand Cuts

  3. Handlebars

  4. A Lottery

  5. All’s Well That Ends Well

  6. Takeover

  7. On Paper

  8. Learn From Danny

  9. Blinding Vision

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.