Gilmour streams Rattle That Lock

David GIlmour has released a stream of his track Rattle That Lock, taken from his solo album of the same name.

The follow-up to 2006’s On An Island is released on September 18.

The title track was inspired by a chime that precedes announcements at French train stations. Gilmour says “Every time I heard it, it made me want to start dancing.” He recorded it on his phone, and a sample based on it can be heard in the song.

He’s also released a video in which he and wife Polly Samson, who wrote the lyrics, explain more of the inspiration and creation process.

Rattle That Lock is available for pre-order in standard CD, gatefold vinyl, deluxe CD/DVD and deluxe CD/Blu-ray plus standard and deluxe digital formats.


  1. 5 A.M.

    2. Rattle That Lock

    3. Faces Of Stone

    4. A Boat Lies Waiting

    5. Dancing Right In Front Of Me

    6. In Any Tongue

    7. Beauty

    8. The Girl In The Yellow Dress

    9. Today

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.