Danko Jones announces Power Trio album, launches riotous single I Want Out

Danko Jones
(Image credit: Dustin Rabin)

Feisty Canadian rockers Danko Jones have announced the release of their 10th album. Power Trio will be released on the Mate In Germany label on August 27, except in North America, where it'll be put out by Sonic Unyon.  

The band have also released I Want Out, a typically boisterous chunk of tearaway rock'n'roll with a message seemingly borne of the frustration we've all experienced over the last 12 months. The video is below. 

In a statement about the upcoming album, the band say, "Power Trio sees Danko Jones delivering each engine-revving riff, soul-shaking stomp, and shout-it-loud hook with a sniper’s precision. It's such a simple, self-evident title, but one loaded with significance, as it speaks to the special triangular alchemy Danko shares with his trusty bass-slinging accomplice JC and drummer Rich Knox.  

"It also stakes out the band’s place on a storied lineage of three-piece titans Jimi Hendrix Experience, ZZ Top, Rush, Motorhead, Venom, Dinosaur Jr., and the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, to name a few." 
The continue, "When you choose to start a power trio, you’re not simply forming a band, you’re entering a blood pact – a tacit acknowledgement that all three members need to carry their equal share of the weight lest the whole enterprise collapse. 

"There’s nowhere to hide in a power trio – no second guitarist to cover your mistakes, no keyboard player to smooth things over, no horn section to distract the crowd. If you fuck up, the whole band fucks up. Everybody needs to be on their A-game at all times." 

Tonight at 7pm GMT/8pm CET, Danko Jones will be performing for European fans in a celebration of the band's 25th anniversary. The show will be streamed live from Bridgeworks in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, and tickets are on sale now. The stream will be available for ticket holders to watch for 48 hours after the event.

"To celebrate our silver jubilee, we are holding our first ever livestreams and we may even be premiering some new material," say the band. "This has been the longest break in the history of our band so without a doubt, these livestreams will be like letting wild animals out of cages. Are you ready? We’re goddamn ready."

The live show for European fans comes the day after a similar performance timed to suit the band's North American audience.

Power Trio tracklist

01. I Want Out
02. Good Lookin'
03. Saturday
04. Ship of Lies
05. Raise Some Hell
06. Blue Jean Denim Jumpsuit
07. Get To You
08. Dangerous Kiss
09. Let's Rock Together
10. Dangerous Kiss
11. Start The Show

Danko Jones - Power Trio

(Image credit: Mate In Germany)
Fraser Lewry

Online Editor at Louder/Classic Rock magazine since 2014. 38 years in music industry, online for 25. Also bylines for: Metal Hammer, Prog Magazine, The Word Magazine, The Guardian, The New Statesman, Saga, Music365. Former Head of Music at Xfm Radio, A&R at Fiction Records, early blogger, ex-roadie, published author. Once appeared in a Cure video dressed as a cowboy, and thinks any situation can be improved by the introduction of cats. Favourite Serbian trumpeter: Dejan Petrović.