Corey Taylor: I've got enough material for three or four solo albums

Corey Taylor
Corey Taylor (Image credit: Roadrunner Records)

Corey Taylor might only have recently released details of his debut solo album CMFT, but the Slipknot and Stone Sour frontman says there’s plenty more to come.

Taylor has been speaking with Kaaos TV about the musical direction of his solo material and reveals that he has enough material for “three or four” solo albums.

Taylor says: "Everybody knows that my musical tastes have always been all over the place. I love music – and I love good music. I've always said that every genre has good music in it. So when I hear something that I really dig, I'm really into it. 

"I think because of that, that has really influenced me over the years  – not only influenced my musical styles in the writing that I've done, but also the songwriting that I've done.

"The only thing I really wanted to do on this album was put the best songs forward because I've got enough material for three or four solo albums. But I wanted this first album to really have that impact, to really put the best songs on there, put the best foot forward and show something that I've never shown the audience before.”

He adds: “If you’re going to do a solo album, you better come with something that people haven’t heard before.”

As for plans to support CMFT with live shows at some point in the future, Taylor says that once Slipknot’s rescheduled touring schedule wraps up in 2021, he’ll probably record his second solo album and “tour two albums instead of just one.”

Announcing CMFT last week, Taylor released two new singles Black Eyes Blue and CMFT Must Be Stopped which features rappers Tech N9ne and Kid Bookie. 

The album will be released on October 2 through Roadrunner Records.

Corey Taylor: CMFT

Corey Taylor: CMFT
Slipknot and Stone Sour frontman Corey Taylor will release his debut solo album CMFT later this year. The record will include the lead tracks CMFT Must Be Stopped and Black Eyes Blue.

Corey Taylor: CMFT
1. HWY 666
2. Black Eyes Blue
3. Samantha’s Gone
4. Meine Lux
5. Halfway Down
6. Silverfish
7. Kansas
8. Culture Head
9. Everybody Dies On My Birthday
10. The Maria Fire
11. Home
12. CMFT Must Be Stopped 
13. European Tour Bus Bathroom Song

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.