Bruce Springsteen says he’ll record with the E Street Band this year and tour in 2020

Nils Lofgren, Bruce Springsteen and Steven van Zandt (Image credit: Mark Venema/WireImage - Getty)

Earlier this month, Bruce Springsteen said he had written “almost an album’s worth of material” for a new album with the E Street Band.

He made the comments during an ‘in conversation with’ appearance in Hollywood with acclaimed filmmaker Martin Scorsese, and added: “There’ll be another tour.”

Now it’s been revealed by Italian website Repubblica that a record will be released next year, with a tour to follow.

Springsteen says (via NME): “I’ll record with the E Street Band in the autumn, and when we are done, we’ll go on tour next year.”

And also speaking with NME, E Street Band guitarist Steven Van Zandt acknowledged that things were happening behind the scenes, saying: “We’ve talked about various things, but I’m yet to commit to it and we haven’t planned it. 

“But he’s always got plenty of stuff, so we’ll talk in a few months about what he wants to do and he gets first priority for me.

“If he wants to go out then we’ll go out. I’m booked through November 6, but we’ve got time to do a new E Street album and then head out on a tour.”

Springsteen, meanwhile, is preparing to launch his new album Western Stars – a record Springsteen described as a return to his solo recordings.

It’ll launch on June 14 through Columbia Records.

Bruce Springsteen: Western Stars

Bruce Springsteen: Western Stars
The Boss returns with Western Stars - his first album since 2014's High Hopes. Said to be influenced by California pop records of the late 60s and early 70s, it features lead single Hello Sunshine.

Bruce Springsteen: Western Stars
1. Hitch Hikin’
2. The Wayfarer
3. Tucson Train
4. Western Stars
5. Sleepy Joe’s Café
6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
8. Sundown
9. Somewhere North of Nashville
10. Stones
11. There Goes My Miracle
12. Hello Sunshine
13. Moonlight Motel

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.