Skip to main content

Bruce Springsteen announces Western Stars - his first album in 5 years

Bruce Springsteen (Image credit: Brian Ach - Getty)

Bruce Springsteen has revealed that his new studio album will be released this summer.

The follow-up to 2014’s High Hopes is titled Western Stars and it’ll arrive on June 14 through Columbia Records.

Springsteen’s 19th album is said to draw inspiration from the Southern California pop records of the late 60s and early 70s, with the record mainly recorded at his New Jersey home studio, with additional pieces laid down in New York and California. 

Pre-orders for Western Stars will get under way tomorrow (April 26) when The Boss will also launch the new single Hello Sunshine.

Springsteen says of the 13-track album: “This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements. It's a jewel box of a record.”

Western Stars was produced by Ron Aniello and mixed by Tom Elmhirst, with Springsteen handling vocals, guitars, bass and keyboards.

Springsteen’s wife and E Street Band member Patti Scialfa provides vocals on four of the new songs, with the album also featuring contributions from artists including Jon Brion, David Sancious, Charlie Giordano and Soozie Tyrell. Western Stars was mixed by Tom Elmhirst. 

Bruce Springsteen: Western Stars
1. Hitch Hikin’
2. The Wayfarer
3. Tucson Train
4. Western Stars
5. Sleepy Joe’s Café
6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
8. Sundown
9. Somewhere North of Nashville
10. Stones
11. There Goes My Miracle
12. Hello Sunshine
13. Moonlight Motel

Scott Munro

Scott looks after Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 25 years in newspapers and magazines and in 2014 joined our news desk, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more. Scott has previous written for the Daily Record, Sunday Mirror, The Herald and IGN.