Black Stone Cherry launch Family Tree album trailer

Black Stone Cherry - Family Tree

Track Listing

1. Bad Habit
2. Burnin
3. New Kinda Feelin
4. Carry Me On Down The Road
5. My Last Breath
6. Southern Fried Friday Night
7. Dancin’ In The Rain (featuring Warren Haynes)
8. Ain’t Nobody
9. James Brown
10. You Got The Blues
11. I Need A Woman
12. Get Me Over You
13. Family Tree

Black Stone Cherry have released a video trailer for their upcoming sixth studio album, Family Tree, the follow-up to 2016's Kentucky

"This album's not as heavy," frontman Chris Robertson tells Classic Rock. "In truth, there was some anger and aggression that came out on some of the Kentucky songs, just from changing record labels and stuff like that. But with this record, we didn't concern ourselves with songs being heavy. We broke down all the barriers we'd put up ourselves – or that anyone else had put up in front of us – and just made a rock'n'roll record."

"We grew up in the Kentucky Headhunters’ rehearsal space, looking up at posters of Cream, Led Zeppelin, Uriah Heep, the Stones, Montrose, and the Faces," says drummer John Fred Young. "We were like kids someone took in a time capsule and put in the woods.”

Family Tree is released on April 20, and is available to pre-order now. Bundles including t-shirts are also available. Black Stone Cherry play Download Festival on June 9.

Fraser Lewry

Online Editor at Louder/Classic Rock magazine since 2014. 38 years in music industry, online for 25. Also bylines for: Metal Hammer, Prog Magazine, The Word Magazine, The Guardian, The New Statesman, Saga, Music365. Former Head of Music at Xfm Radio, A&R at Fiction Records, early blogger, ex-roadie, published author. Once appeared in a Cure video dressed as a cowboy, and thinks any situation can be improved by the introduction of cats. Favourite Serbian trumpeter: Dejan Petrović.