Skip to main content

Asia's Coulson releases debut solo album

Asia guitarist Sam Coulson has released his debut solo album Electric Classic, featuring his own takes on 10 famous classical works.

It follows Asia’s 2014 album Gravitas, recorded after he replaced Steve Howe in the veteran outfit.

Coulson says: “I’m very proud of my first solo album. It’s 10 of my favourite classical pieces, played on a couple of Fender Stratocasters. I really enjoyed recording them – I hope you enjoy listening.”

Electric Classical is available now in CD and digital formats.


  1. Ave Maria
  2. BWV 1007 Prelude
  3. Op 35 No 22
  4. Recuerdos De La Alhambra
  5. Vals Venezolano No 2
  6. Op 6 No 11
  7. Moonlight Sonata Blues
  8. BWV Anh 114
  9. Op 35 No 17
  10. Romance

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history. He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.