Anthony Phillips reveals Private Parts set

Anthony Phillips has confirmed the released of a five-disc set concentrating on his early Private Parts & Pieces albums.

The clamshell box contains Private Parts & Pieces (1978), Back To The Pavilion (1980), Antiques (1982) and A Catch At The Tables (1984), plus an additional disc of 18 unreleased tracks. Bonus material on the other discs add up to a further 18 songs.

The collection was compiled by Genesis co-founder Phillips along with Jonathan Dann, who’s written a new essay for an extended booklet.

The Private Parts series continued with Twelve, Ivory Moon, Slow Waves Soft Stars, New England, Dragonfly Dreams, Soire and latest release, 2012’s Private Parts & Pieces XI: City Of Dreams.

The box set is released on August 28 via Cherry Red and it’s available for pre-order now.

Disc One: Private Parts & Pieces

Beauty And The Beast

Field Of Eternity

Tibetan Yak Music

Lullaby – Old Father Time

Harmonium In The Dust (Or Harmonious Stratosphere)

Tregenna Afternoons





Seven Long Years

Bonus tracks:

Silver Song (demo)

Movement IV From Guitar Quintet

Disc Two: Private Parts & Pieces: Back To The Pavilion

Scottish Suite:

– Salmon Leap

– Parting Thistle

– Electric Reaper

– Amorphous, Cadaverous And Nebulous

– Salmon’s Last Sleepwalk



Postlude: End Of The Season


Spring Meeting

Romany’s Aria



Magic Garden

Von Runkel’s Yorker Music

Bonus tracks:

Will O’ The Wisp


I Saw You Today

Back To The Pavilion

Lucy: An Illusion

Disc Three: Private Parts & Pieces Part III: Antiques


Hurlingham Suite:

– Ivied Castles

– Frosted Windows

– Bandido

– Church Bells At Sunset

Suite In D Minor:

– Whirlpools

– Cobblestones

– Catacombs

Danse Nude



Otto’s Face

Sand Dunes

Old Wives Tale

Bonus tracks:

Frosted Windows (Variation I)

Esperansa (alternate mix)

Bandido (early take)

Old Wives Tale (take 6)

Suite In D Minor (alternate version)

Frosted Windows (Variation II)

El Cid

Disc Four: Private Parts & Pieces IV: A Catch At The Tables

Arboretum Suite:

– Set Piece

– Over The Gate

– Flapjack

– Lights On The Hill

Earth Man

Dawn Over The Lake



Heart Of Darkness

The Sea And The Armadillo


Bonus tracks:

Erotic Strings

A Catch At The Tables

Flapjack (Solo Version)

Theme From Operation Whale

Disc Five: Private Parts & Extra Pieces

Sea Piece Intro

Prelude 3

The Princess Waltz

The Marionette Vignette

Duchess Of Kew

Birdsong Link

Over The Gate (Alternate Mix)

Sea Sketches

Lines In The Sand

Study In D Major

Moonshooter Piano

Long Ago

Lullaby – Old Father Time Variation

Theme From Sea Piece

Sistine (Alternative Piano Version)

Armadillo Air

K2 Link

Still-Born Love

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.