Amplifier's 8-bit Carpet ride

Amplifier have launched a video for the 8-bit version of new track Magic Carpet, taken from upcoming fifth album Mystoria.

The alternative take is available as a free instant download for those who pre-order the record, due on September 8 via Superball Music.

Guitarist Sel Balamir recently said of the record: “It doesn’t aspire to emulate any of its predecessors. We’ve gone back to just trying to write great songs and melodies, and that’s where we’ve decided to stay.”

They launch a European tour in October, which includes two UK dates alongside Kerbdog and others – one at the Ritz in Manchester on November 15, and the other at the Forum in London on November 16.


  1. Magic Carpet

  2. Black Rainbow

  3. Named After Rocky

  4. Cat’s Cradle

  5. Bride

  6. Open Up

  7. OMG

  8. The Meaning Of If

  9. Crystal Mountain

  10. Crystal Anthem

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.