Airbourne kick it into gear with new single Backseat Boogie

Airbourne press shot
Airbourne (Image credit: Travis Shinn)

Airbourne (opens in new tab) have released a stream of their new single Backseat Boogie.

It’s the latest material taken from their upcoming studio album Boneshaker which is set to launch on October 25 through Spinefarm Records.

The Australian rockers previously shared the title track (opens in new tab).

Airbourne frontman Joel O'Keeffe says: “The riff is one of those ones where producer Dave Cobb walked out and said, 'What are you playing there?’ I said, ‘It's this riff I had in Australia, it's got a bit of a vibe, I'm not sure.’

“He got behind the drums, picked up Ryan's drumsticks and said, ‘How does he play with these things? These things are baseball bats!’

“It was just really funny – and then Ryan jumped on the kit and we tracked it right then and there.”

Ryan O'Keeffe adds: "It all happened really fast. The band's lucky to have had a lot of time rehearsing together and playing together, but we tracked songs before we even thought we tracked them."

Airbourne are currently on tour across Europe and will play a sold out show in Gothenburg later tonight (October 11).

Airbourne: Boneshaker
1. Boneshaker
2. Burnout The Nitro
3. This Is Our City
4. Sex To Go
5. Backseat Boogie
6. Blood In The Water
7. She Gives Me Hell
8. Switchblade Angel
9. Weapon Of War
10. Rock ’N’ Roll For Life

Airbourne: Boneshaker (opens in new tab)

Airbourne: Boneshaker (opens in new tab)
Australian rockers Airbourne are back with their new album Boneshaker – their first studio outing since 2016's Breakin’ Outta Hell. This is not to be missed!

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.