Will Motley Crue’s reunion be permanent? Nikki Sixx weighs in

Motley Crue

Motley Crue are back in the spotlight once again thanks to their upcoming biopic The Dirt.

The film based on their colourful career will premiere on Netflix on March 22, with a trailer for the long-awaited film released last week (opens in new tab).

It looked as if the Crue had called it a day after playing an emotional farewell show in Los Angeles on New Year’s Eve 2015 (opens in new tab), but Vince Neil, Nikki Sixx, Tommy Lee and Mick Mars shocked the rock world in 2018 by announcing they had reunited to record four tracks for the movie.

The first, The Dirt (Est. 1981) (opens in new tab), arrived last week, while Ride With The Devil, Crash And Burn and the Crue’s cover of Madonna’s Like A Virgin will appear on the movie’s official soundtrack.

But could their brief studio reunion lead to something more permanent?

Speaking exclusively with Classic Rock, Sixx says: “We haven't even had that talk. We've just been wrapped up in the movie. 

“Yeah, I miss the guys, and I miss playing with them, and playing that music, but everyone’s fairly busy with their own thing. 

“That’s a whole conversation that we haven’t even had at that point. And I don’t know if we ever will.”

The Crue went as far as to sign a high profile contract in January 2014, meaning they would be sued if they ever hit the road again, with Sixx recently ruling out the possibility of any further live shows.

He told Rolling Stone (opens in new tab): “Sometimes I look out at my friends, like the guys in Aerosmith and Metallica, and I’m like, ‘God damn it, did we retire too soon?

“But there will be no one-offs in our future. Maybe we’ll just get together and jam in Mick Mars’ front room.”

Motley Crue: The Dirt Soundtrack
1. The Dirt (Est. 1981) (feat. Machine Gun Kelly)  
2. Red Hot
3. On With The Show
4. Live Wire
5. Merry-Go-Round
6. Take Me To The Top
7. Piece Of Your Action
8. Shout At The Devil
9. Looks That Kill
10. Too Young To Fall In Love
11. Home Sweet Home
12. Girls, Girls, Girls
13. Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.)
14. Kickstart My Heart
15. Dr. Feelgood
16. Ride With The Devil
17. Crash And Burn
18. Like A Virgin

Motley Crue: The Dirt Soundtrack (opens in new tab)

Motley Crue: The Dirt Soundtrack (opens in new tab)
The soundtrack to the long-awaited Motley Crue biopic The Dirt will launch on March 22 and features 14 classic Crue cuts along with four new tracks.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.