New David Bowie box set will feature previously unreleased demos

(Image credit: Hulton-Deutsch Collection/CORBIS - Getty)

A new David Bowie compilation has been announced featuring nine previously unreleased demos.

It’s titled Spying Through A Keyhole and it’ll be released via Parlophone as a 7-inch vinyl singles box set and will include the earliest known versions of Space Oddity.

A statement on Bowie’s website reads: “With 2019 marking 50 years since David Bowie’s first hit, Space Oddity, we are excited to announce that Parlophone is set to release a 7- vinyl singles box set of nine previously unreleased recordings from the era during which Space Oddity was first conceived.

“The title, Spying Through A Keyhole, is a lyric taken from the previously unknown song Love All Around, and though most of the other titles are known, these versions have never been officially released until late last year. 

“Most of the recordings are solo vocal and acoustic home demo performances, unless otherwise stated.”

This will be the first time the tracks have been included on a physical release, with the songs appearing for a limited time on streaming services last month. 

The website also explains that due to the nature of where the demos were recorded, the quality “isn’t always of a usual studio fidelity.”

The statement adds: “This is partly due to David’s enthusiastic strumming hitting the red on a couple of the tracks, along with the limitations of the original recording equipment and tape degradation. 

“However, the historical importance of these songs and the fact that the selections are from an archive of tracks cleared for release by Bowie, overrides this shortcoming.”

A final release date will be revealed in due course.

Classic Rock have just published a guide to Bowie’s best albums – featuring the essential records, the ones that helped cement his reputation and more.

David Bowie: Spying Through A Keyhole
1. Mother Grey (demo)
2. In The Heat Of The Morning (demo)
3. Goodbye 3d (Threepenny) Joe (demo)
4. Love All Around (demo)
5. London Bye, Ta-Ta (demo)
6. Angel, Angel, Grubby Face (demo version 1)
7. Angel, Angel, Grubby Face (demo version 2)
8. Space Oddity (demo excerpt)
9. Space Oddity (demo - alternative lyrics) (with Hutch)

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.