Listen to breathtaking new Ihsahn track Wake

(Image credit: Gary Wolstenholme - Getty)
Ihsahn - Àmr

1. Lend Me The Eyes Of The Millenia
2. Arcana Imperii
3. Sámr
4. One Less Enemy
5. Where You Are Lost And I Belong
6. In Rites Of Passage
7. Marble Soul
8. Twin Black Angels
9. Wake
10. Alone (Bonus - Poem by Edgar Allan Poe)

BUY NOW FROM AMAZON (opens in new tab)

Ihsahn has released a stream of his brand new track Wake.

It’s been taken from his upcoming seventh solo album Àmr, which is set to arrive on May 4 via Candlelight/Spinefarm Records.

In February, the Emperor mainman premiered the video for Arcana Imperii exclusively with Metal Hammer, which featured a guest appearance from Opeth guitarist Fredrik Akesson.

Speaking about the follow-up to 2016’s Arktis, Ihsahn praised the contribution of long-time drummer Tobias Ørnes Andersen.

He said: “It’s just lovely to work with Tobias. I know that he can technically handle anything I throw at him. 

"But, more importantly, when I say, ‘I want this to feel like the vacuum between words in a conversation with Hannibal Lecter,’ he’ll say, ‘Yeah, I get that!’

“For him it’s not about showing off, it’s always about relating to the vibe.”

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.