Skip to main content

Lamb Of God team up with Testament’s Chuck Billy for new single Routes

Lamb Of God
Lamb Of God (Image credit: Travis Shinn)

Lamb Of God (opens in new tab) have released a visualiser video to go along with their new single Routes which features a guest appearance from Testament (opens in new tab) frontman Chuck Billy (opens in new tab).

It’s the latest material taken from the band’s upcoming, self-titled album, which is set to launch on June 19 and follows New Colossal Hate, Checkmate and Memento Mori from the follow-up to 2015’s VII: Sturm Und Drang.

Lamb Of God vocalist Randy Blythe reports the lyrics for Routes were inspired by his experience of joining the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation pipeline protests in North Dakota in 2016 (opens in new tab).

Blythe says: “I went to Standing Rock because I had heard reports of violence committed on the peaceful protesters there by both state law enforcement and private security contractors, and this violence was not reported in mainstream media for the most part. 

“I went to bring supplies and support these people who were trying to protect their water, and thereby protect everyone, as everything in the natural world is protected. I was there a week, made some great friends, and learned a lot. It was a very profound experience in my life, and I knew one day I would write a song about it.”

Blythe adds: “My experience, although my own, was tempered and shaped by the hundreds of years of brutal oppression of Native peoples in our country. So, it was imperative for me to have a Native voice represented on the song – and Chuck Billy was happy to be that voice.

“At the end, there is a call and response section – Chuck calls and I respond. This is intentional. Musically, it is symbolic of my experience there. A native voice leads, bringing forth positive energy and calling to the people to unite, and I reply, providing support. That was my physical experience, and it is reflected in the song.” 

Billy adds: “It was a great honour as a proud Pomo Native American to be asked by Lamb Of God to do some guest vocals on this song. The No DAPL movement by the indigenous people of this country was a historic event. Being able to lend my voice to represent the Native American people complimenting Randy's storytelling and lyrics is something really special to me. 

“I’m glad this movement was put in a musical message, and I am extremely happy to have been a part of it.”

Lamb Of God will be released through Nuclear Blast and is available to pre-order now here and at Apple Music (opens in new tab), and Amazon (opens in new tab) in black, limited edition yellow, or limited edition red vinyl and CD. 

(opens in new tab)

Lamb Of God: Lamb Of God (opens in new tab)
Lamb Of God will release their brand new album – the follow-up to 2015’s VII: Sturm und Drang (opens in new tab) – later this year. The record will feature the lead singles Checkmate, Memento Mori and New Colossal Hate.

Lamb of God: Lamb Of God
1. Memento Mori
2. Checkmate
3. Gears
4. Reality Bath
5. New Colossal Hate
6. Resurrection Man
7. Poison Dream (with Jamey Jasta)
8. Routes (with Chuck Billy)
9. Bloodshot Eye
10. On The Hook

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.